Machine translation (MT) is slower and less accurate than human translation and there is no immediate or predictable likelihood of machines taking over this role from humans.

Recent advancements in cognitive computing have radically improved Machine translation technology (MT). Some people believe, MT can never be, as fast nor accurate as Human translation. I disagree with this point, and in this essay, I will put forth my views on how MT is slowly becoming better than a Human translation with suitable examples. Firstly, one of the major concerns of MT is its inability to accurately translate real time information. But with the advent of high speed internet technologies like 4G, and now 5G, we are able to process large volumes of data real time in the cloud. For example, once 5G technology gets implemented, there will be zero loss of information over the network, this would mean, a computer operating from US, over a cloud network, can easily translate large volumes of data within milliseconds thus solving the latency problem. Secondly, another factor that is contributing to the improvement of MT is Machine learning. With the help of machine learning technology, a high speed computer can create a neural network, which is continually learning various variables required for accurate translation like accents, slangs, context of usage etc. . Such neural networks are programmed to learn on its own and this will tremendously improve accuracy of MT. For example, the latest version of Skype for Business from Microsoft, comes with a Machine translation feature, where people from different countries can talk to each other in their own language and the MT feature will translate the conversation over the network. This particular application was built using machine learning technology. To sum up, with companies investing billions of dollars to improve their machine learning capabilities, I believe, MT is going to become faster and accurate, and within no time it will be as perfect as a human translator.