Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives.

With the tremendous advancement in heath care and medical science, people's life expectancy has become longer than ever before and it is believed that older people can now have a more active life than they had in the past. Some people opine that senior people can still have productive and active lives and the following essay will discuss how they can have positive contributions to the society. Firstly, it is a fact that people are now working longer than ever before and government in many countries has been forced to increase the retirement age. Thanks to the latest healthcare facility and scientific advancement for that. Furthermore, it is also noticed that instead of becoming a housewife, many women choose to work nowadays. Consequently, working parents are leaving their children either in a daycare centre or to a babysitter. Having healthy and active grandparents will be beneficial for these families, as they could help by taking care of their grandchildren. Grandparents take great care of their grandchildren and this strengthens the family tie. Secondly, healthy and productive senior citizens can make contributions to the societies through volunteering jobs. It is a fact that many public facilities such as local libraries need some people to do volunteering jobs. Many of the senior people love to do these kinds of activities, as they give them a chance to socialise and interact with other people. And then, by having more volunteer employees the operating cost will be reduced and the fund could be allocated for other important matters. Thirdly, there are many professions where experienced and older people can contribute far better than young people. For instance, politicians, teachers, researchers, historian, doctors often need time to produce their best output. Thus older people can remain in these types of professions and serve the people and country for a long. In conclusion, it is true that as the health and medicine sectors have developed, people's life span have become longer. Most of the retired people are still in healthy and active conditions. I personally believe that these people can give positive contributions to societies. They could assist their children by taking care of the grandchildren, and they could do volunteering jobs in the neighbourhood. Some of them can even serve the country in different important professions.