Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

The extent to which older individuals can contribute to society and play an active role in their community, is greatly affected by their autonomy and independence. This essay will demonstrate how investing in the welfare of older people can palpably and noticeably have a positive impact on society. Firstly, the awareness over the past few years of the need to invest in the overall health and wellbeing of senior citizens, has been paramount to the successful reintroduction of older generations into the heart of society. The efforts that have been made to improve geriatric care with an emphasis on the importance of independence, have created a rise in capable and healthy elderly citizens. What this investment does is generate a feedback loop where an empowered and fit aging population is able to utilise their most valuable asset, time, in order to actively participate in and benefit society. Secondly, it’s essential to remember that the over 65s represent more than 20% of the population. A large portion of the populace that, if left redundant can be a burden on the rest of society. Older people, more often than not, have disposable income more substantial than younger people and therefor their purchasing power is valuable. That’s why having senior citizens who are happy and healthy increases the chances of them buying services and products, which subsequently positively impact the economy. There are many other ways in which the over 65s can enhance their local communities. One way is by bringing their veteran experiences to younger generations in different sectors like education. Finally, the value that older people impart on the rest of the population is substantial and should always be appreciated and sought after.