Living in big cities is good for people’s health. with the statement?

It is a common belief that there are some positive impacts on urban citizens’ health. While I think the high quality of medical services and facilities in city centers would bring several benefits to the public health, I still believe that the lifestyle in metropolitan areas also has detrimental effects on people’s health. It is true that living in cites is beneficial for people’s health to some certain extent. To begin with, urban inhabitants can easily access a great deal of fitness centers to improve their physical well-being and take stress off their mind, whereas those places are not provided in the countryside. Another reason worth mentioning is that compared to people living in rural areas, urban dwellers can access better health care and innovative technologies which can help them in diagnosing a variety of diseases such as diabetes or cancer at an early stage; therefore, they are effectively treated. Nevertheless, I would argue that some health problems seem to be the result of city life. The first reason to be given is that noise from construction sites and means of transportation would cause noise pollution, which leads to some illnesses such as hypertension or sleep disturbances. Besides, a few green spaces probably pose a threat to people’s health. In other words, there is a significant decrease in the number of parks since the growth of industrial buildings, which results in the fact that the atmosphere in cities is worse mainly because pollutants including exhaust emissions from vehicles are not made clear. Moreover, the hectic lifestyle might deprive people of their time to relax, which negatively affects their health. In conclusion, while I agree that the advantages that city life would bring to urban inhabitants are undeniable, I am of the opinion that living in metropolitan areas results in damage to people’s physical and mental health.