Libraries should be shut down as better alternatives are available

It is an undeniable fact that children must learn the distinction between right and wrong starting from a young age. It is often argued that punishment is important to help them learn this difference. However, I somehow disagree with this viewpoint as I believe that children can understand this distinction by love and care instead of chastising them. Firstly, punishment might make children more violent and curb them to rebel against their parents. However, if a child is made to understand the difference between right and wrong through love, care and understanding, it is possible to avoid this violent behaviour. A survey done by a toddler's institution found that children who were never given a punishment, neither in school nor at home, were more well mannered and patient as compared to children who were given punishments. Nevertheless, it is an indisputable fact that children nowadays are more rebellious than the previous generation and sometimes parents or teachers might feel that a stringent method should be used to instill good behaviour in children. In cases like this, it is fair to turn to punishments like grounding or giving them detention or more homework. Teachers can also complain to the higher authorities if the matter gets serious. Moreover, corporal punishments should be avoided at all costs as it will make the youngsters resentful and make the matters worse. In conclusion, to make children understand the rights and wrongs of a situation, it is sometimes essential to use non physical punishments. However, it is possible that in the majority of the situations, the young ones will understand with simple talks laden with love and care.