Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are the reasons for this, and suggest some solutions.

Most urban cities have witnessed a rapid growth in terms of both development and population over the past decades and recently been faced with a disturbing trend of rise in the criminal activities amongst the youth. This essay will scrutinize the reasons behind this trend, like lack of job opportunities and substance abuse, and argue that increasing opportunities for education and work, as well as stricter laws can be the viable solutions. One of the major reasons is the lack of job opportunities. This is mainly because rapid development has given rise to overpopulation of the metropolitan cities due to migration from less developed areas. As a result, there is a lot of competition for jobs and hence more and more young people find themselves jobless. Thus, the frustration and lack of money often drives them to resort to unlawful activities. Another reason can be an increased indulgence in alcohol and drugs. As more young people are often living away from families and because of influence from media and internet, they are more vulnerable to substance abuse. Furthermore, in order to fetch money to fulfill their addictions, they often commit criminal offences. This problem needs to be addressed at the grass loot level by the concerned authorities. For instance, creating more job opportunities for the young population is an important aspect to curb this problem. In addition, youth can be made more employable by providing them technical skills and vocational training, this can be achieved by organizing special evening classes and sessions for adolescents and young adults. Another important step towards tackling this problem would be stricter laws around substance abuse. The police agencies need to have strict policies in place against drug dealers so that the youth does not have easy access. Furthermore, rehabilitation and awareness programs are required to deal with this issue. In conclusion, the rising youth crime can have detrimental effects on the development of the society. The major causes like increasing joblessness and substance abuse need to be appropriately addressed by providing the youth more education and job opportunities, and creating strict laws for drug abuse.