In many parts of the word, there is continuous coverage of sport on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves.

In these days, sports channels telecast almost all major sports events from across the world. It has become a cash cow of many television networks. At this juncture, many people, including talented ones, glue to the television. Though it brings about an extreme satisfaction to viewers, many youngsters fail to participate sports activities which are organised around. Firstly, sports events aired on the television drain a great deal of time of viewers. To be more precise, discussions and critics along with the sports episodes waste the valuable time of event watchers. By this problem, youngsters go to the ground once in a blue moon. Furthermore, many sports events such as test cricket serious call for many days to reach the final stage. A viewer who watches this kind of sports event on television hardly get time to participate other sports. To cite an example, world cup and cricket final telecasting time has become a holiday for many national and international stadium because of lack of participants. Secondly, television telecasts provide only theoretical knowledge of sports rather than practical knowledge. An unpracticed sportsman needs to pull his socks up to become a man of the match. In addition to that, a sportsman needs to hone his skills by continuous practical exposure. Moreover, they need to go the extra mile to become a national or international sports icon. Instead of paddle once own canoe, simply watch the sports event on the small screen does not facilitate to become a sports star. A recent sports magazine reports that the successful sportsman spent very less time to watch sports on television is the best epitome. By and large, I hold the view that the excess sports event watch on small screen badly affect the youngsters to come practical field. They enjoy events on the television as a piece of cake and they assume that the spot is a cake walk. Anybody really needs to become sports figure, they must put up with is practical sides.