According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Should we worry about the effect this is having on social interaction or should we see the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities worldwide?

During the last decades the number of individuals, that use the World Wide Web as a necessary tool of communication, has increased dramatically. Indeed, much more persons communicate with each other through the Net. It has been a worrying trend for those who enjoy the face-to-face interaction. However, others have seen it as a positive change. To begin with, the Web is a great way of communication between people. For example, only by using the Internet a person can talk with those who are living in a different part of the world. Thus, the distance does not matter for it. Additionally, it is possible to send an email to any person on the planet and that letter the receiver will get in a second after it has been sent. Therefore, the Net allows making the communication faster. By connecting to the Web from any place, a person can access any information available there. For instance, read a favourite newspaper or find a financial report of a listed company in ASX. On the other hand, while people with passion and enthusiasm using the Net, their time of social communication has significantly reduced. This trend has a negative effect on individual’s health and their life. For example, those who spend too much time on the Internet sit most of that time and, as a result, they may become obese. Moreover, this obesity might be a cause of diabetes in the future. Another drawback is that the internet users have the lackings of face-to-face interaction, which leads to lonely personal life without having a partner and children. To sum up, it is evident that the Internet has brought advantages as well as disadvantages to the person’s life. I firmly believe that individuals as a whole have faced much more benefits than drawbacks from using the Internet as a method of communication because an individual can balance the time they spend on the web and leave the time on other things.