In many countries, television shows many foreign-made programmes. The dominance of imported entertainment is harmful to the cultures of these countries.

Nowadays, foreign-made programs take their dominance in most countries, if not all. Undoubtedly, those programs bring about many negative effects. Chiefs among them are the adoption of bad habits and watching-addiction.   For several reasons, I agree that the imported entertainment negatively affects the cultures of countries. The first harm caused by imported foreign programs is the adoption of bad habits. In fact, foreign-made programs plant bad habits in their watchers which will be negatively reflected in their culture.   For example, my neighbour is so obsessed with watching foreign- programs and he and he always intends to imitate and adopt such bad habits. As a result, he began to drink Alcohol and use drugs.   Consequently, he caused many problems to his family in particular, and to his neighbours in general. This clearly shows us the danger the foreign programs may have on a community. A second harmful effect of foreign-made programs is that they cause watching -addiction. In fact, many people, especially youth, are addicted to those programs. For example, my brother was a student who used to watch foreign- made programs every time and they left negative impacts on him. As a result, he became careless and indifferent to his studies to the point that he failed 3 exams.   Consequently, he was dismissed from the university and is now jobless.   So, it can be inferred that such programs have no benefits but serious effects. To conclude, foreign –made programs are harmful to any community since they cause watching –addiction and bad habits adoption. To avoid above harms, governments are required to band foreign-made programs and replace them with local ones.