Learning a foreign language offers an insight into how people from other cultures think and see the world. The teaching of a foreign language should be compulsory at all primary schools.

It is true that by learning other country’s language, we could learn various types of new traditions and cultures. Therefore it is believed that the study of foreign language should become a compulsory course at all elementary schools. I personally agree with the statement as it would become a valuable asset for the children, and the following essay will discuss it in details. Learning new foreign languages would be an exciting activity for elementary students since it will not only focus on the grammar structure and the vocabulary. Some audio-visual tools that are usually made for the children to learn, and they commonly show about the country’s cultures.  Therefore, students will not only learn the language, but also learn about the daily activity of the local people, and some of the cultural places in the country. And then, as we are living in the globalisation era, more and more people are doing international trade activities these days. As a consequence, it is important for business people to able to speak in another language, besides their mother tongue language. Trading activities are mostly dominated by countries such as the US, Japan and China nowadays, and as a consequence, it is essential for the future generation to learn these countries’ languages. Therefore learning one of these international languages should be a compulsory course in all primary schools. In conclusion, studying foreign languages become an essential thing these days, as it brings many benefits for the people. One of the advantages is that we could learn another country’s tradition and civilisation. I personally agree with the statement and I strongly recommend students to learn new languages from the earliest level.