Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as result, people gravitate towards buying their products. what problems does this cause? what could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Multinational businesses tend to invest huge amounts of capital into advertising their products around the world. This level of spending ensured that the product is accessible to be purchased in every corner of the world. Due to its reach and potential to get the products sold in volumes, the price tag of the products will be competitive. Since it is very economical to buy these kind of products, people sometimes tend to prefer the lower price of the product rather than where it gets produced from. This consumer behaviour impacting local markets negatively. Governments should impose tariffs on these foreign brands and subsequently should reduce taxes on the locally made products. Capitalism has never been a favourable situation for local economies. Because, most of the profits made by these giant companies never get invested back into local economies, pushing the small scale businesses out of the game. Moreover, the capital gains are in the hands of the top 1% of the people in the society, preventing it from being circulated in the domestic markets. This phenomenon is making the home trade not profitable. In addition to this, big corporations lack variety and creativity in their product design. This is because they are designed in such a way, which could work for most of the people but not for all. In one way, this is influencing consumer's choice, leaving them with limited options to choose from. In my opinion, Governments should step in and start imposing bigger tariffs on the products made by these massive companies. This will increase the cost of the products manufactured by these giants motivating buyers to look for alternatives. At the same time, governments should encourage local shops and small scale industries by reducing taxes on the goods produced by them and by providing subsidies as well. This would help in reducing the cost of the products enticing customers to buy locally made goods. In conclusion, pricing of the products should be closely monitored and measures should be taken by the governments to maintain the trade in such a way that domestic economies are not driven away by the corporate companies.