Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

It is obvious nowadays that multi-million organizations are splurging on advertising campaigns and purchasers seem to lean towards the products of giants rather than local ones. Not only does this phenomenon lead to unfairness in the market but the survival of regional companies is also threatened. Supports from the government and changes in consumer behaviour might be a solution to this issue. To begin with, it is believed that large companies are creating a state of disorder due to their monopoly of products on the market. This consequently creates a downward spiral in which the manipulation of these giants leads to the collapse of local businesses and then to unemployment. For example, the domination of smartphones manufactured by Apple and Samsung in Vietnam recently have resulted in the survival of no indigenous smartphone brands, which means a large amount of money has to be splashed out in order to import these products to fulfil the need of customers. Thus, unfairness is obviously a setback of this trend. Measures to tackle this issue include the intervention from both government and consumers. In order to avoid any monopoly from giants, the authorities should protect small business by providing them subsidies. In addition, barriers can be put up and special tariffs have to be taken into account to limit the amount of imported products that may corner the market. However, it must be acknowledged that backing from the government is only part of the equation. It is advisable that customers also have to take action. By changing their preferences towards products made by local companies and abiding by the anti-trust laws, purchasers are exercising their social responsibility and to a certain extent, they are playing a part in developing the local economy. In conclusion, by establishing a marketing and promotion schemes, large organizations are having a tendency to monopolize the market and adversely affect the development of local companies. In order to counteract this trend, not only should laws and taxes be implemented by the government but consumers also have to change their shopping habits in a way that favour homegrown products.