Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

International brands and big businesses have large amounts of funding which they use for advertising and attracting customers to buy their products from all over the world. As a result, local businesses and shops are finding it difficult to make sales and their income is decreasing. This can be overcome by government restrictions on false advertising and providing of funds for local businesses which would help them flourish. The main problem of buying things from big businesses is that people spend a lot of money unnecessarily on products they do not really need due to the attractive marketing skills the businesses possess. The advertisements lure both the young and the old alike into purchasing items, especially children who become demanding by watching these advertising on television. Furthermore, by spending extravagantly on international brands, people go into debt competing against who has got the latest products and equipment which is quite detrimental to the society. Moreover, local businesses suffer the consequences of the high demand of people buying foreign things. In order to promote the selling of local products, governments must help them by funding and creating awareness of the existence of such products. For example, billboards and posters showing how locally made products are environmentally friendly and how waste is reduced would attract customers to switch from large businesses to local ones. In addition, local products must be made sturdy and quality must increase to keep customers coming back to purchase more. In conclusion, large businesses must be banned from false advertising and creating illusions to stop people from spending wastefully. The small local businesses must thrive to attend to the needs of the people by providing good quality, reasonably priced and personalised service to attract and maintain sales.