It may be true that a lot of ex-prisoners would step back on their criminal path after serving a sentence. There could be several reasons for this, and I believe that we can take various steps to tackle the issue.

It may be true that a lot of ex-prisoners would step back on their criminal path after serving a sentence. There could be several reasons for this, and I believe that we can take various steps to tackle the issue. There are a number of reasons for which ex-offenders keep on committing crimes when they are released. Firstly, it is their nature that contributes greatly to the problem. They may have grown up without proper education, and therefore are unaware of their sinful actions and behavior even after a certain period of serving a sentence. Also, the punishments administered may not be strict enough to make them turn their life around and become law-abiding citizens. Another trigger for their backsliding can be the fact that these people are usually unable to make ends meet after being set free in that they are likely to fail to meet the requirements of most jobs. In addition, there might be a prejudice against these individuals since they have generally bad reputations. As a result, many of them choose to relapse into crimes. In my view, several measures can be taken to solve the problems described above. To begin with, prevention is better than cure. Thus, education should be viewed as the top priority. People should be informed of the serious consequences that they may have to be faced with so that any latent idea of committing crimes will be dispelled in its infancy. Additionally, more harsh punishments need to be inflicted on offenders to deter them from re-performing illegal actions in the future. That is to say, imprisonment should be prolonged to increase its effectiveness. Last but not least, the general public needs to have proper attitudes towards reformed prisoners in order to facilitate their process of community reintegration. In conclusion, the fact that numerous criminals will commit crimes after finishing their punishments in prison can be attributed to a number of factors, and both governments and their people have to join hands to deal with the problem.