Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first sentence. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Crimes are repeatedly committed by a large number of first-time criminals after being released due to deficiencies in rehabilitation while in prison and a mix of new offenders with other criminals who can be a negative influence. As a consequence, there are several solutions which ought to be considered to address this issue. There are two main reasons why first-time offenders commit offences again after leaving from prison. Firstly, there is a lack of rehabilitation whilst in prison. In other words, inmates are not given a chance to retrain essential skills for their future career and to develop a deeper understanding about appropriate moral norms. As a result, after being punished for the first time, offenders usually struggle financially owing to the difficulty in maintaining regular employment and therefore tend to reoffend regardless of knowing the consequences. Another reason for repeat offenders is indiscriminate mixing of minor offenders with hardened criminals. By doing this, there is a growing tendency for the low-level offenders to rub off on the higher-level prisoner, causing an escalation in deviant behavior for new inmates. The problem of reoffending can be solved by two effective solutions. One method to tackle this issue is to offer an opportunity to take part in educational and vocational training to all prisoner. Inmates can participate in a wide range of courses and activities such as cooking, painting, needlework crafting, and volunteering, for example. This ensures a job for offenders after being released, which enables them to avoid financial issues and consequently to be reintegrated into society. Another way is that criminals should be separately incarcerated according to the type of crimes. For instance, both petty and indictable criminals ought to be imprisoned in different prison cells, resulting in preventing the low-level prisoners from adverse influences which have been able to be mainly driven by the high-level offenders. In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for first-time criminals to recommit offences after they have been released. Hence, in order to cope with this matter, acquiring useful skills needed for the workplace and separating the offenders based on the category of offences should be implemented.