It is sometimes argued that prison is the best place for criminals, while others think that there are better ways to deal with them. What is your opinion?

Many people hold the belief that prison is the best place for keeping criminals, others, however, subscribe to the view that there are more efficient solutions to handle them. While both arguments are justified to some extent, I lay my thoughts alongside the alternative ways. On the one hand, I hold the belief that it is appropriate to put criminals behind bars. This is due to the view that prison can act as a deterrent towards the offenders for fear of retribution. For instance, prisoners undergo punishment and harsh labour will learn to avoid crimes or violence if ever released from prison, especially those who serve a long sentence of up to years or even decades. Moreover, as inmates are locked up in jail under strict supervision, their unlawful acts will be restricted which ensures the security of the citizen. On the other hand, apart from imprisonment, I content that two alternatives including vocational training and education can guarantee a significant outcome in the long-run. Firstly, vocational training such as construction or bus driving programs can tackle the problem of income for many lawbreakers who turn to crime for a living. Thereby, such courses can help the criminals fit in with the society and further becoming a law-abiding citizen. Additionally, in terms of education, rehabilitation programs can help the offenders acknowledge their wrongdoings and their negative impacts on the society, hence develop better behaviors and attitudes. Under such training, the criminals will be given the chance to turn over a new leaf and reform their lives In conclusion, while applying imprisonment to criminal is undoubtedly an effective punishment, in my view, other measures such as providing a proper jobs and education can have a more significant effects eventually.