While it is sometimes thought that prison is the best place for criminals, others believe that there are better ways to deal with them. What is your opinion?

Crime is a serious and growing problem in most societies. It is thought that jail is the best place for keeping lawbreakers, while it is argued that there are several other ways to address them. While I accept that the best way to reduce crime is to give confinement sentences, I also believe that there are alternative ways that will be more effective. On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some believe that criminals should be sent to prison. Criminals who commit serious damage to others, such as robbery, violence or even homicides, jail is a place to keep them away from the community, which ensures innocent people’s safety. In confinement lawbreakers have a chance to engage in rehabilitation programmes such as vocational training, voluntary works, manual labour. Also, in the long term penitentiary is the best deterrent for their bad actions. Hence, after a long time they could change their awareness of mistakes and become productive members of society. On the other hand, some argue that there are better alternative choices than receive prison sentences such as education and training. I suppose that penitentiary may be counterproductive with people who commit misdemeanours. For example, juvenile delinquents were induced from bad friends participating in criminal activities like shoplifting or drug abuse because of peer pressure. If they have to stay in prison with people who commit serious crimes, it leads to breeding hatred and revenge of people with misdemeanour and personality will not improve. Therefore, education and training are more suitable options for offenders who are young or when the crimes are misdemeanours because such actions will give them a chance to be productive members of society. In conclusion, although some people think that offenders should be sent to penitentiary which is the best way, I personally believe that education and training are also necessary for criminals to not commit crimes again in the future.