It is sometimes argued that prison is the best place for criminals, while others think that there are better ways to deal with them. What is your opinion?

Many divergent views exist on how best to deal with criminals. Some feel that sending them to prison is an appropriate method. However, a great number of people, including myself, are of the opinion that there are other ways to treat offenders. In this essay, I will provide the rationale for my viewpoint on the matter. Those who support sending offenders to jail claim that society will be a safe place to live. This is because those criminals will be locked up in the facility far from the general public. Thus, they will not be able to harm the society members. Not to forget, this will also deter the other criminals to conduct a crime. It goes without saying that when criminals see prison sentence for committing a such crime, they will feel will danger to perform any further crime. Therefore, it will reduce the crime in the society. Yet, we must remember that there are criminals who still do the crime ever after years of prison sentences. Personally, I firmly believe that other ways, such as rehabilitation and job training are the best ways to deal with offenders. Indeed, when these criminals are given opportunity to work and education, they will be able to regroup again with the society members. This way they would not need to do a crime to gain money from others. Maybe there is some truth in this claim, and some empirical evidence can be provided to support it. For instance, a 2007 study conducted by a team of researchers at the University of Toronto found that crime rate has been reduced to 80% in peel region after the police started to offering criminals to do community service as a method of punishment. To sum up, I maintain that rehabilitation is the best way to deal with criminals. It is my sincere wish to implement this policy all around the world.