Children in many countries are eating more fast food and convenience snacks. Why are children doing this and how serious are the consequences?

Children nowadays are turning to fast food and convenience snacks and there are many reasons for this unhealthy trend. Globalization, the influence of the western culture, fast services, high disposable income and unique taste are some of the factors encouraging the intake of fast food. This article will throw light on some of the major causes of this practice and the possible consequences. Globalization has unfurled a whole new world of delicious eatables. In other words, it has made foreign food more readily and easily accessible. One can find foreign fast food outlets at every corner with flocks of youngsters in them; write them because you are referring to the plural nouns outlets because they emerge as an obvious choice for them. Some of the common international fast food brands that have overpowered Indian markets are McDonalds, KFC, Dominos and Burger King. Another reason is the affordability. Since the per capita income has increased, the standard of living has also increased. Children have nowadays got hefty pocket money from their working parents, but less time and care which often pushes them towards adopting the junk food culture. Surprisingly, many international brands provide eatables at quite cheaper rates which further contributes to this rising culture. McDonalds, forfor example, has a starting range of only Rs 30 for AalooTikki and Mc Egg burger, making them reasonably priced for children belonging to even middle class or poor families. The influx of these globally recognized food brands and the inclination of children toward them can lead to harmful consequences. Firstly, are always at the risk of getting obese or developing other health issues after consuming these high calorie and fat rich products. Secondly, these food joints create intense competition in the market and take away the livelihood of local food suppliers. To conclude, children are consuming fast foods because of the influence of the western culture and their ready availability. Unfortunately, regular consumption of such foods leads to several health problems like obesity and diabetes. It is therefore important that parents monitor their children’s food habits and encourage them to consume more home cooked and healthy foods.