It is shown that meetings, training and discussions now happen online. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

In the contemporary world, thanks to the existing technological advancements, virtual meetings, training as well as discussions are becoming an indispensable part of our daily lives. From my perspective, the benefits of this trend far exceed its drawbacks. On the one hand, conducting meeting and training sessions online may get engaged with several major disadvantages. Firstly, technical limitations are likely to be the irreversible sequel to unstable Internet connections of meeting participants. This is inextricably linked with the fact that individuals involved can lose track of the progress of the meetings, which assuredly brings about a low efficiency of the discussions. Moreover, video-conferencing members may be diverted the attention away from the content of the meetings by virtue of externally non-productive Internet activities. This indicates that there will exist a loss of personal interaction which is often considered to be an invaluable asset easily fulfilled by the physical presence. On the other hand, I hold an unwavering belief that the merits of virtual discussions are much more significant. In the first place, it goes without saying that the widespread use of online video programs would diminish the time and costs regarding member transportation, hotel accommodation and so on. The things saved can be utilized as financial incentives for employees as well as for crucial aspects such as advertising. What is more, holding meetings virtually also facilitates the geographical barriers of participants. Irrespective of locations, individuals will be able to attend and give their own assessment, which endows enterprises the golden opportunity to implement the extension of the worldwide business. To sum up, I am convinced that the plus points to people’s lives created by online meeting and training sessions undoubtedly outweigh the potential downsides. However, we must gain full-scale knowledge when and how much to make use of this trend so that we can offset the adverse effects to some certain extent.