It is said that countries should produce all food for their population to eat and import as little as possible.

People hold the view that the countries should carry the responsibility of producing and providing food for their residents, reducing the dependency on other countries. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this statement for the potential negative effects that may be induced by it. Providing all kinds of food for consumption for the whole population is simply impractical and deterrent to the country. First and foremost, some types of crops or animals are only raised in specific areas or countries. This will reduce food diversity, therefore the citizens would not be able to achieve a balanced and nutritious diet. In addition to this, adverse effects would arise on the economy when the agriculture sector becomes the focal point of governments for supplying sufficient food for the public, ignoring other economic sectors. In contrast to the concerns mentioned above, I believe that importing food from other countries would offer a myriad of benefits. Bringing in food from abroad play an important role in increasing food variety, in which residents are left with more choices and are more nourished, achieving better efficiency in work. Moreover, governments can also focus on doing more different things rather than trying to supply enough food for the whole population. Besides that, the importing and exporting also help to strengthen the relationship between countries, which is also critical for a country to grow. In conclusion, attempting to manufacture adequate food for the whole country is an inappropriate approach, which leaves behind negative effects on the economy. Whereas on the contradictory, food importation should be encouraged for the benefits that it offers.