It is quite common for both parents in a family to work. Sometimes this is because they need two salaries to survive whereas other times it is their choice. What are the problems you see in this situation? How does this affect the children and the family life?

In this money driven world, it is not uncommon to see both the partners in a family to be working to fulfil the family needs or otherwise. This situation has given rise to many problems for children as well as family. On one hand, because of spending extended number of hours at workplace, the children are usually rendered unattended by both the parents, which makes them pray of bad habits such as enormous hours spent on playing games and watching television. Moreover, Children in such houses are often seen to be indulged in bad company as they are not mature enough to distinguish between rights and wrongs. For instance, according to a research, around 60 percent of the children of the households, where both parents are doing jobs, are seen to be indulged in illegal activities. On the other hand, such scenario also has an adverse effect the family life too. Firstly, as the members of the family spend least time together, it results in having weak family bond. Secondly, it also raises the problem of poor mental health of the family members as they are exposed to constant pressure of work as well as home chores. Last but not the least, the intimacy and respect among the couples deteriorate, which, in turn, give rise to fights and arguments. To illustrate, the divorce rate among the young couples has arisen to 20 percent because of spending less time together and more at work. To conclude, albeit earning money is a necessity in today’s world, however, it should not be done at the cost of ignoring family and children.