It is quite common for both the parents in a family to work. Sometimes, this is because they need two salaries to survive, whereas at other times, it is their choice. What problems do you see in this situation? How does this affect the children and family life?

In the modern society, it is usual to see both the parents in a family working. While for some people, it is a requisition for economic survival, for others, it is a matter of choice to pursue a career. This situation may have wide-ranging repercussions in the family life, which are discussed in the following paragraphs. Myriad problems can emanate from such a scenario. To begin with, when both the parents in a family are working, they seldom find time for each other and their children. In addition, sometimes, their timings often become totally different where one of them works during the day and the other during the night hours, due to which the entire management at the home tends to get disturbed and the things go awry. Besides this, some parents send their children to the day-care centres where they are taken care of by strangers as a result of which, the emotional bond between the parents and their young ones starts getting weakened and they do not get the required love and affection. The above-said problems entail various consequences. Firstly, personal relationship between the couple might get affected due to the difference in timings and thus, frequent tussles may occur between them over petty issues such as preparation of food or purchasing the groceries. Secondly, when children are left at the day-care centres, they may neither learn moral values from the strangers which are customarily taught by the parents, nor get corrected for the mistakes committed by them. Thirdly, in the absence of their parents, they may spend time alone with their gadgets, enter into bad company or become prone to depression. To conclude, it sometimes becomes necessary for both the parents to work for financial independence, however, efforts must be made to pay attention towards their children and spend more time with each other. Engulfing oneself entirely into work impacts the overall family life. A balance must, thus, be maintained. (