It is often claimed that electronic devices will soon replace paper books. Do you agree or disagree?

People have always enjoyed reading since time immemorial. While, it is argued that conventional way of reading books is bound to disappear due to invention of electronic gadgets. I do not completely accord with it because hard copy books have unique characteristics that electronic gadgets will never possess. To initiate with, there are several reasons why conventional way of reading books is still popular? First of all, many people love reading paper book since it has a specific odour. The scent of a paper book helps a person to enjoy process of reading while electronic devices do not own such characteristic. For instance, the founder of Apple, Steve Jobs had always emphasized his love for the smell of books and said that there is nothing to replace it. In addition, electronics always require charging whereas paper books are permanently ready to use. Secondly, though books are heavy to carry and require a lot of care, readers can easily make notes and highlight keywords. Internet users are not able to do this. In addition to that, kids and school students learn faster by reading books rather than e-books. A recent report published in the UK elaborate that the people who read books possess better memory than those who use the internet. However, undoubtedly, technology has given radical approach to reading books. A plethora of books are available on the internet free of cost. As a result of this, many universities and schools now have decided to allow students to use the internet in the classrooms and libraries. Besides that, eBooks are environment friendly as they eliminate the need to cut down trees for the production of paper books. Moreover, eBooks are easy to share as no parcels are required to deliver them from one place to another. To conclude, the lives of people are drastically affected by the advanced versions of technology including e - books, yet in my opinion, it will not be able to pose threat to the existence of paper books