It is often claimed that electronic devices will soon replace paper books.

People have always enjoyed reading since Biblical times. The issue whether paper books are going to disappear due to the invention of electronic gadgets is often argued. I completely disagree with this opinion and think that reading hard copy books will never become unpopular. First of all, many people love reading a paper book since it has a specific smell that an electronic gadget cannot show. The scent of a hard copy book helps a human to enjoy the process of reading while electronic devices do not own such characteristic. For example, the founder of Apple Steve Jobs had always emphasized his love for the smell of books and said that there is nothing to replace it. In other words, a lot of people prefer to read hard copy books owning to the unique book odour that electronic gadgets will never possess. In addition, electronics always require charging whereas paper books are permanently ready to use. People constantly need to charge an electronic device to be in a position to exploit it. Books do not demand charging at all. So, humans will not stop using hard copy books because unlike electronic devices, books do not require invariable charging. For instance, a contemporary author Derek Walcott does not use electronic devices for reading due to his habit of forgetting to charge electronic equipment. In that case, he prefers to bring with him paper books only. That is why the issue of charging is important for people and they will never find the substitute for hard copy books. To conclude, reading paper books is indispensable because of the distinctive odour atmosphere and such characteristic of a book that gives a person an opportunity to enjoy reading with no need of constant charging.