It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subject. What are causes? And what will be effects on society?

Science and technology has become the core strength of a nation for many years. However, the number of college students who continue learning such subjects as microbiology, advanced mathematics, and chemistry is decreasing. There are many factors triggering that downward trend and several adverse impacts on society. First and foremost, there are a variety of obstacles that discourage learners from majoring in science. The main one is that these subjects can be challenging for students. As they are abstract ones, they require the learners to possess a good problem-solving and analytical skill. Another limitation is there are insufficient well-trained mentors who can make their lessons interesting enough to catch an attention of their students. Last but not least, experimental facilities are outdated and need modernizing. This leads to a circumstance that the students may find it unsuitable for their research tasks. In terms of consequences, there are several negative impacts that this problem may exert on society. Firstly, there will probably be fewer mathematicians, scientists, and teachers in the future due to the declining number of those who specialize in science and technology at tertiary level. This also gives rise to fewer innovations that are made annually. Secondly, the workforce of in-country scientists may not be optimally made use of. Therefore, the governments have to employ exotic researchers to carry out those works. Lastly, the productivity of argiculture and industry is on the decline. This is because not many people are deeply interested in finding the way to revolutionize argicultural and industrial techniques. In conclusion, the limited number of college students selecting science as their majors is attributable to several factors, and this problem may bring about adverse impacts.