It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subject. What are causes? And what will be effects on society?

It is true that these days, there is an insufficiency in the number of students majoring in science. There are a wide range of reasons leading to this situation, and this undoubtedly has various negative impacts on the society. One of the obvious reasons for this phenomenon is that studying science requires a lot of diligence as well as a great deal of intelligence and patience, since most of science subjects are extremely difficult. For example, students studying science are usually required to do more researches with higher level of difficulty and commitment than those who major in other fields. In addition, the employment opportunities in science are limited and competitive, therefore people have little chance to get a suitable job after graduation. As a consequence, these factors are more likely to discourage students to opt for studying science subjects. On the other hand, this trend would definitely bring to the community numerous drawbacks. Firstly, it is undeniable that not many students studying science means that other majors such as business or hospitality will become prevalent. This, consequently, might result in the imbalance of future workforce and the increase of competitiveness which can push a worrying number of graduates to the verge of unemployment. As a result, this can cause stress or even depression for young people and will be a burden to the government. Secondly, this situation also leads to the scarcity of human resources due to the shortage of science professionals. In conclusion, there are not enough students studying science due to its challenging requirements and limited job opportunities, and this phenomenon will undeniably affect the society in many negative ways.