It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subject. What are the causes? And the effects on society?

In recent decades, the number of students enrolling in science-related subjects is becoming inadequate in different parts of the world. Given that this trend leads to a whole host of issues to society, identifying the reasons is key to finding the solutions. There are a number of reasons why science subjects are no longer appealing to students in universities or colleges. First, since those subjects are often demanding and difficult, which requires a lot of diligence as well as a great deal of patience and intelligence, students may find it discouraging to opt for such courses as their majors. In fact, science subjects seem to be less attractive to students compared to economics or business-related subjects partially due to a higher level of commitment and difficulty involved, especially for young people who prefer instant gratification rather than long-term benefits. Second, as employment opportunities available for graduates in the science field are limited and extremely competitive, students are prone to be reluctant to enroll in related majors. This means that although a huge amount of time and effort is spent on these majors, there is no guarantee or little chance for them to land a decent job after graduation. A shortage of science learners can result in some negative effects on society. First, as the number of science students is insignificant, other majors such as business or economics become prevalent, hence the imbalance in the future workforce. In fact, increased competitiveness due to abundant degree holders of the same expertise might push a number of non-science graduates to the verge of unemployment. Second, if fewer students decided to learn science majors, there would be a shortage of science professionals as qualified employees within a nation. This means that a nation, especially those in the developing-nation group, will resort to offshore outsourcing and thus being heavily reliant to more developed nations, which will no doubt hurt the domestic economy in the long-term. In conclusion, the challenging nature of science subjects and limited job prospects are hindrances to students considering entering this field, and serious problems are arising from this situation.