Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that. Do you agree with this opinion?

Many people hold the opinion that health subsidies should not be given to citizens irrespective of their financial status, but I disagree with that. No doubt, everyone is responsible for keeping themselves fit, but it is the government’s responsibility as well to ensure their citizens are entitled to have medicinal benefits. Recent changes in lifestyle have had adverse effects on people’s health. Also, jobs in metros are so demanding that people are unable to pay attention to their mental and physical fitness. Because of this reason, the government should ensure that its citizens have easy access to cheap and quality health care. By providing free health care, the government can also earn the trust and loyalty of its people. Another factor that explains why we need health care subsidies is the proportion of people living below the poverty line. In many developing countries poverty index is quite high and people cannot even afford basic medication. They are largely dependent on government agencies for assistance when they develop a health problem. Lastly, it is clearly evident that our generation has considerably low immunity levels because of the low quality of the food we eat. These days, fruits, vegetables and grains are treated with pesticides which reduce their nutrient value. Also, food available outside is mostly of low quality. These factors also lead to an unhealthy society. To conclude, it is imperative that we keep ourselves fit and healthy by eating quality foods and leading an active lifestyle. This, however, does not mean that the government has no responsibility towards building a healthy society. It should contribute its bit by providing subsidized or free health care.