It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. What are advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The idea of travel to remote areas such as South pole is now possible due to the development of technology. While I accept that this new evolution may sometimes have a positive effect on scientists and tourists, I believe that they are more likely to have a harmful impact. On the one hand, there are some minor advantages caused by travel to some remote natural environment. Firstly, scientists might have more opportunities to collect samples and observe the environment in order to archive their research goals. Another benefit of this trend is that tourists in those remote places can provide more job opportunities to local people. Consequently, this helps rural communities earn more profits, which improves their living standards. In addition, by voyaging to those remarkable locations, travellers have a chance to visit the most spectacular landscapes on earth. However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Trips to remote regions involved a lot of risks because we do not know much about the area. Secondly, tourism development could put pressure on natural resources. For example, by building tourism facilities such as accommodation, restaurant and road infrastructures could lead to land degradation, soil and sand erosion and the loss of wildlife habitats. Furthermore, some of these locations already encountered the negative effects of activities related to tourism. Everest mountain, for instance, has been suffering by over climbers. As a result, environmental pollution had been occurred according to littering and solid waste. In conclusion, even though exploring uncommon places are interesting and beneficial, it seems to me that the potential dangers of travel to unknown destinations are more significant than the possible benefits.