It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn about other cultures of other people. You can learn just as much from books, films, and the Internet.

It is sometimes argued that it is possible to acquire knowledge about different cultures without even leaving one’s own apartment. It can be done by reading, watching movies or just surfing the net instead. I cannot but disagree with this view as I believe that the best way to learn is by experience. Travelling adds a special flavour to the learning process as it provides tourists with their own unique experience and memories. It is well-known that people’s perception of reality may vary from one individual to another, what seems to be fascinating or important for some, has no or completely opposite meaning to others, so it is often better to see inhabitants’ reality with your own eyes and make your own decisions. To illustrate this point, only by actually visiting other places people can try exotic cuisines, experience locals’ hospitality, as well as hear different dialects and become familiar with special customs and rituals. One more reason against modern substitutions for travelling is that these do not always contain correct and full information. What can be found in the publications and in the media are often subjective opinions and feelings, somebody else’s experience. This is for the reason that there is often exists a certain level of artistic licence. Hence, if people are not able to separate real facts from the author’s imagination, they will be misled by incorrect views and stereotypes about other cultures. For instance, some of those who have never been to Russia, but read articles about it, believe that its citizens consume vodka as their everyday routine, that is far from the truth. It is therefore my belief that travelling around the world is the only golden opportunity to gain knowledge about other cultures due to the fact that it provides individuals with their own experience, not just with facts or, even worse, stereotypes.