Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). Give re

Nowadays, many families have to balance the need for additional income with the necessity of providing a secure, comforting environment for their children. I believe that the latter is more important. This essay will discuss both points of view. It is not only desirable but also compulsory for both parents to work in today’s difficult economic climate. Despite the potential problems for the children, work, either part-time or full-time, is the only solution to have sufficient funds to raise a child. Salaries provide for the day-to-day essentials as well as allowing a family to live in a neighbourhood where the best schools are situated. One or both parents leaves home early in the morning and doesn’t return until late evening. The result of this is that a solution has to be found for when children finish school before their parents arrive home. After-school clubs are plentiful; other options include family members looking after the children either voluntarily or on a paid basis, often at a reduced rate. Either the husband or wife, or in some cases both, also work overtime, thus providing even more money. A pupil at primary school needs the comforting reassurance of somebody at home or at the school gate when he or she finishes the school day. Whether it is to tell that person about a good mark for homework or to discuss any problems, the mere presence of another human being provides invaluable support. So-called latchkey youngsters often mix with others in the same position and this can lead to undesirable consequences such as involvement in crime, drugs or alcohol. Help with homework as well as providing food and drink are other advantages. In conclusion, although extra income is always welcome, I believe that the positive aspects of the support of one or more parents far outweigh any monetary gain.