It is no longer necessary that animals should be slaughtered and made into either human foodstuffs or non-foodstuffs, such as fur and medicine.

It is said that animals will be unnecessary to be used in many areas in the near future. In my opinion, although there are many ways by which animal products can be replaced, people will still need to use for food, clothing, and medical research. On the one hand, killing animals for any purposes is cruel and immoral, so governments and institutions should try to avoid slaughtering and using animals. Firstly, people can turn to eat vegetarian or alternative foods instead of meat. Besides, with the advancement of science, many studies about alternative foods which taste like meats but are still safe for people’s health have been being conducted, and many studies became successful. Secondly, in the clothing industry, using animals can be also minimized. For example, animals’ fur used for making clothes can be replaced by synthetic fur and synthetic silk which look as good as the real thing. Additionally, people should use clothes made by synthetic fur and synthetic silk instead of animals’ fur. Thirdly, today, scientists are also trying to limit the use of animals for research and trials. On the other hand, despite of efforts limiting the use of animals, people cannot completely stop using animals. Firstly, fish and meat are necessary for people in most meals with vitamins, minerals and proteins. In addition, alternative meat is usually expensive and not popular, and may not provide enough nutrition. Secondly, it is impossible to conduct medical studies without using animals. For instance, unless medical researchers conduct study about a new treatment method or a new medicine with trials on animals, it will be very dangerous to use the treatment method or medicine on humans. In conclusion, I believe that respecting animals’ right to live and limiting the use of animals for any purposes are good, but it is impossible to completely stop using animals.