Some people argue that we should do research into our family history. Others agree with the view that we should focus on the present and future generations.

In this day, while people conduct research into their family background, others pay attention to the present and future generations. In my opinion, we can find a middle ground where all theses opinions are satisfied. On the one hand, a huge number of people look into their family history for various reasons. First, learning about the family tree helps people satisfy curiosity because media makes they believe that it is necessary and natural to understand about family history. For instance, the United State is a mutiracial society, so many Americans are interested in learning about their origins. This leads to a development of a sense of identity. Second, looking into the family background will help the children learn from the life of their ancestors, including what to do to avoid the previous mistakes. As a result, people can instiil family pride or keep ancestor’s memories alive. On the other hand, people put more emphasis on the future and presents generations instead of looking into the past. The reason is our past does not always define who we are as well as our ancestor’s past achivements do not ensure our future successs, so investigating in family background is a waste of time and money if we are curious. Moreover, our actions and attitudes now will already affect our present and future. Our laziness at present time, for example, will badly affect our finance and happiness later on. Because of this reason, concentrating on present and future is greater important than seeking information about the family history. In conclusion, while I admit research into the family history is necessary in the civilized society, I also do belive that, people should pay attention on the present and future generations.