It is neither possible nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young people.

As the world is globalized, people nowadays tend to change jobs quite frequently. For them, the prospect of staying in the same job for too long is undesirable, if not impossible. Though I’m not against this trend, I can’t say I fully agree to that. With so many fields of expertise today that requires not only skills but creativity, people have more options when seeking jobs. A hundred years ago, if your parents saw you drawing, they’d tell you to stop since they believed you weren’t going to be an artist. Same goes with music, or dancing. Only anything related to industrialism was deemed worthy. It’s not the case now. You can be a successful artist or musician and make millions. Jobs don’t always mean sitting behind a desk doing tedious work. You can explore your talents and apply your creativity. If you don’t like one job, you can hunt for another one. Or even start selling things online and make money. However, the oh-so-many fields demand a lot from you, too. You may have to pursue time-consuming higher education due to the academic inflation which makes undergraduate degree less valuable than it was fifty years ago. Competition gets tough. Pressures are high. There are more people than the jobs available. In Guangzhou, for example, there are master degree graduates working as babysitters. Staying in one job, even if you don’t enjoy it, could seem to be the only way. You may have to suppress your dream and talents and get whatever job available on the market in order to survive this cutthroat world. Unfortunately, it is not always up to us to choose a job. Sometimes we’re even lucky to get one. So, if you have to stay in the same job throughout your working lives, as mad as it drives you, but it keeps you alive, then why not. Just go to work.