It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people.

It is undeniable that attending universities gains increasing popularity in all nations across the globe. While it is believed that bringing tertiary education within the reach of more youngsters is impossible and unnecessary, I absolutely agree. There are some sound reasons why the access to higher education does not need to be offered to younger people. The first reason is that for some jobs, particularly blue-collar jobs, academic degrees and 4-year training programs in universities are not indispensable requirements sought by almost every recruiter. This means that short training courses in several months up to a year in vocational schools not only help them to become well-placed in the job market but also save their time and money. Other than that, not all people have ability to meet strict demands on the acquisition and application of knowledge and finance. The reason is that if students do not possess superior academic skills to finish academic works, including dissertations and projects or the school fees are unaffordable, they can drop out of schools by themselves or be suspended due to poor academic performance, which is a waste of time and money of theirs and the government. Besides, the impossibility of this project needs to be taken into consideration for some compelling explanations. First of all, providing education in universities on a large scale can be considered as a culprit behind the deterioration of the environment, especially forests. This is because the proliferation of the population is exerting greater pressure on the housing supply system, which means that numerous of trees will be chopped down to make way for institutions with a view to accommodating the ever increasing number of students. Moreover, the greater pressure on the government's budget can be attributed to making higher education accessible to the wider public. When more students can attend to universities, the government has to allocated their financial resources which are being used to tackle serious problems such as starvation, illiteracy and crimes that citizens, particularly those who live in poor or disaster-prone areas, need to fight against to facilitate the development of facilities and hire more professors in universities. All in all, providing the access to the tertiary education on a large scale not only is not useful but also surpasses the ability of the authorities.