It is neither possible nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young people.

People hold different views about the possibility and usefulness of providing tertiary education for the majority of young people. While there are some benefits of university education, I would argue that it would be impractical to do so. On the one hand, university education plays a vital role in the future of young people in this knowledge-based society. Universities provide students with higher career prospects. By entering colleges, students may stand a good chance of bettering their practical skills such as interpersonal and team-working skills. This will allow them to not only perform their tasks more efficiently but also get along well with colleagues. As a result, young people attending tertiary education tend to get a well-paid job in the long run. Moreover, as they can gain more experience through field trips and extracurricular activities during their courses, they may achieve success easily. On the other hand, I would argue that it is impractical that almost all young people have access to tertiary education. Firstly, since some youngsters have to face with financial problems, they may have challenges pursuing a university course due to exorbitant tuition fees. For example, a majority of young people having hardships or difficult situations tend to earn a living in early years with a view to financially supporting or even raising their families. Therefore, not only are they short of money but they are also lack of time to pursue a degree at universities. The second reason is that a large quantity of young people in remote areas do not have the required equipment to study on campus. For instance, students often need computers in order to carry out their projects at schools, which are hard to obtain in such places. Consequently, they might not be able to graduate if they enroll on a course at universities, which prevents some young people in a nation to get access to university education. In conclusion, while university education might benefit students, I still believe that the idea of providing tertiary education for a large number of young people is impossible.