It is much more convenient to watch a movie on television or computer than buy a ticket and go to the cinema. In the nearest future of the popularity of cinemas will drastically decline.

Over the past half-century, there has been a dramatic change in the cinema industry, owing to technological advancements. People can watch the latest movies and television shows on their smart phones and computers, in the comfort of their home. Some assert that the number of cinema goers will significantly reduce in the distant future due to the increased use of these devices. This essay sheds light on both viewpoints and will arrive at a conclusion. On one side of the argument, many ascertain that the cinema industry will continue to thrive in the years to come. This is probably because they believe watching a movie on the big screen is a completely different experience than watching it at home. For example, a recent survey conducted in India revelated that people in the 40 to 50 age group preferred to watch movies in the theatre rather than on their computer screen at home. On the contrary, some reckon that the popularity of cinemas will dramatically drop in the near future. This is mainly due to the surge of the technology industry all over the world. Nowadays, movies are available in multiple websites on the internet, and can be viewed with a simple click of a button. Moreover, these movies can be watched with no charge. In addition, entertainment apps such as Netflix have gained so much popularity among youngsters, majority of them prefer to sit at home and binge watch their favourite TV shows and movies. In fact, there are some directors in the UK who prefer releasing their movies to these apps than into theatres, as they believe they will gain more viewers using this method. To conclude, even though watching a movie in a cinema hall is a different experience, I believe that the art of cinema will drop down in the coming years, due to the drastic rise of technological innovations.