Nowadays public transport prices are constantly increasing. Why do you think it is happening? How can this problem be solved?

The steady accelerating rate of fair public transport is becoming a common problem for many societies. Various reasons cause this problem. But, governments could certainly take steps to tackle this issue. The higher fares are the result of higher costs for transportation agencies. In my opinion, flawed economic policies of governments are the main factors that can be blamed as a cause of this problem for the general public. Firstly, most countries are remained to be dependent on fossil fuels. Nonrenewable resources such as gas and oil as a main source of energy are used for means of public transport systems. Fluctuation in the price of fossil fuels which is happening nowadays leads to raising the expenses of vehicles that rely on them. Another issue in economical policies of authorities is imposing more taxes on companies who are running the public transport systems. In order to alleviate the existing problem, there are some feasible solutions. One step that can be mentioned is that governments should begin to put some investments in transportation companies to help them to substitute the transportation means which rely on nonrenewable energy with new ones that are using sustainable resources such as solar and wind power. On the other hand, the government should impose higher taxes on privately owned cars and decrease the duty of public transport agencies. This policy can encourage citizens to use public transports such as train and busses which also has a good impact on economical growing of these companies. In conclusion, there would be always an increase in fares of public transportation systems unless governments take steps for aiding transportation agencies to eliminate fossil fuel vehicles and replacing them with environment-friendly ones and by decreasing imposed taxes on these companies.