A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is more and more typical of our society to pay attention to richness and social position which people convey, rather than human values. Kind and reliable people seem that are not important in our society anymore. In my opinion, this is not true in real life between real people, because it is a tendency of social media and television to focus more on appearance rather than on important values such as kindness and reliance on others. Firstly, human relationships base their importance on trust between two people and it does not matter the amount of money a person earns or the number of cars somebody own. As a matter of fact, I do not think a man and a woman decide to pass their entire life without relying on each other. All in all, we choose people who can stand by ourselves in relation to love, confidence, kindness and importance they give us. However, there is a portion of humankind that is unfairly growing which relates a person’s importance with economical wealth and social status. As an example, social media such as Instagram or Facebook, are full of people trying at every cost to appear better than they are, in order to gain reputation and then money. In particular, they tend to show themselves near beautiful girls, nice cars and luxurious places, as if like money could buy anything a person wants. In conclusion, even if social media have been strengthening the importance of appearance and money for years, I still think that dated values are tacit but always present, because they permit us to relate with other people, to gain a true social position which is reached without economical or showy means.