It is more important for school student to learn about local history than the world history.

In this contemporary setting, history is given paramount importance, and some are of the opinion that local history should be given more emphasis than world history to students. Considering this situation, it is crucial to explore this from two perspectives. To begin with, local history presenting ancestors’ thoughts and experience has some merits, as it is part an integral part of the education system. To be specific, local history can present causes and consequences of certain behaviours, which helps students to understand factors contributing to failure and success, thereby preventing them from repeating the same mistakes and integrating their ancestors’ experience with the current context. As a result, this helps students to improve their lives in their local society. Besides, those adopting their traditional culture will establish a sound moral value system, this is because cultural history contains an enormous value which helps young people to distinguish between right and wrong. Furthermore, it can prevent them from committing crimes. Consequently, local history tends to contribute to enhancing social cohesion. On the other hand, by learning world history, students may gain benefits as well, as it plays an indispensable role in this holistic development. To be precise, teaching student world history tends to learn diverse values, traditions and customs, which broadens their horizon. Moreover, They will cultivate a sense of empathy among other countries. For instance, many countries have experienced civil wars. When students study world history about other countries’ civil, it can integrate their sense of feelings and comprehension of wars into other ones. Therefore, this might result in fewer disputes among countries. Hence, it can devote to a harmonious society. In conclusion, local history will have a fundamental role in improving students’ lives and enhancing social cohesion. However, by no means, should we turn a blind eye on the benefits of world history. Nevertheless, I strongly agree that it is pivotal for students to pay more attention to local history rather than world history.