It is more important for school children to learn about local history than world history.

A common discussion among educators is about whether local history is more crucial than world history, with conflicting views on how school children would approach this issue. One opinion states that historical knowledge of the world will help prepare students for the globalized era that we are in today. Advocates of this belief that acquiring the history of how another culture was formed means understanding and sympathizing, as well as appreciating the distinct characteristics of that culture. If a student from my Vietnam country learns about the 9/11 incident, he would be aware of how catastrophic it was and show respect to the victims, along with the emergency workers who were there. Also besides, because the borders between countries are becoming welcome to international citizens, knowing the social customs of another culture will let those citizens adapt more easily. However, when a student neglects local history, he will not know the origin of where he is coming from. Teaching local history often includes lessons on historic battles that the ancestors had to fight to keep the freedom of their country. Having these events in mind, students will not only realize how struggling the country was built, but also feel proud of their identity. From a personal perspective, educational systems should focus more on teaching young students domestic history. Doing this will build a fundamental understanding of those children, as well as of patriotism. The schools can then give more attention to global history after the children have reached cognitive maturity. In conclusion, even though teaching world history can bring benefits that broaden students’ horizons, it will not be complete without knowledge of origins.