It is more important for school children to learn about local history than world history.

There is a school of thought that learning local traditions is more essential than world history for school pupils. Nevertheless, I am in favor of the idea that it is equally important for them to study local, national and global history. On the one hand, the history of local and nation plays an irreplaceable role in the development process of children. Kids need to be aware of the events of their country’s past, which enhances their patriotism. Vietnam wars are particular examples of the erecting, defensing progress and heroes who sacrificed for the nation’s freedom. Also, local history probably increases the social knowledge of children. It can be clearly seen that an educational system involving the history of their own country or region enables children to know how important local cultural traditions have developed. On the other hand, the benefit of studying world history should not be underestimated. Schoolchildren are able to develop an understanding of the past experiences of other peoples through historical lessons of the world. As a result, it will be easier for them to form an empathy by knowing about the origins and past development of people around the world. Moreover, children may understand how the history of one country has come to affect the history of other countries. To illustrate, world history provided children with explanation why one nation became colony of another and the impacts remained until today. In conclusion, I would argue that not only local history but also world history is worth teaching to schoolboys and schoolgirls.