Countries with longer working hours enjoy an economic advantage, but they suffer from certain negative social effects,

There are certain countries where staff at work-place have to sweat out for longer hours. Such countries, no doubt, enjoy greater economic gains, greater prosperity. But, as many people opine, these countries have to suffer various negative social effects. I fully see eye to eye with these people. There is no denying the fact that for prolonged hours plays havoc with the physical and mental well-being of the workforce. It leads to physical exhaustion and mental stress. Such people suffer from various physical ailments, like diabetes, blood pressure, heart maladies. These unhealthy conditions are aggravated by mental tensions. Mental stress also causes psychiatric disorders. The affected people can suffer from nervous breakdown too. Ultimately all these problems affect the longevity of individuals. Their lives are cut short, and they die before their expected life-span. Overworked individuals make for an unhappy social life. First of all, they remain away from home for longer hours, thus depriving their children of much-needed love and care. This is particularly true in the modern age where both husband and wife are working people. Neglect of children leads to juvenile delinquency, with all its attendant evil effects. Moreover, these over-stressed workers are left with no desire to enjoy social interactions. They refrain from social outings, from meeting friends and relatives, attending functions and parties. Their social life indeed is wrecked. To sum up, countries with longer working hours do enjoy an economic advantage, but the affluence is at bought a high price, at the frightening price of unhappy social life.