It is known to all that the technological and scientific advances have made great changes to the range and quality of our food. Some people regard it as an improvement while others believe that the change is harmful.

In recent years, technology and science have significantly impacted the food industry. Some would argue that it is a positive development, while others think that this is hazardous. While having these improvements may not sound a good idea to some, I wholeheartedly believe that this will be advantageous for society. On the one hand, these scientific techniques have brought a revolution in food production while producing them on a large scale and also set hygiene benchmarks. Factories and farmers are equipping themselves with the latest machinery which will facilitate mass production of packed food and crops respectively. These machines ensure that while making a product how much quantities of certain elements are suitable for intake. For example, the Green Revolution in India, which happened after Independence, supported the rapidly growing population of the country. If a nation doesn’t incorporate such advancements, this will negatively impact the growing number of citizens directly. On the other hand, some nutritionists believe that the mass production of food mostly involves compromise in the quality and nutritional value. In order to stay fit and healthy, it is imperative to get all the needed nutrients from our diet. However, a plethora of additives, flavours and preservatives are added to the food before packing them into fancy-looking packets. Farmers also use a lot of pesticides and insecticides to treat their crops and all this result in the degradation of the quality of food. For instance, one of my friends is a food inspector in food authority of India told me about how his team busted a racket in a factory producing noodles when they were using toxic elements like lead just because it makes noodles shiny after cooking. Therefore, such additives are harmful to our health. In my opinion, it is extremely important to use technology and science to improve food scarcity in the world. As we are progressing towards mid of the 21st century the number of people living in the world is exponentially increasing hence we need to value the contribution of science in the food industry. There may be some adulteration in food but we need to make a wise judgement to choose best and trusted brands for our intake. In conclusion, although along with scientific improvements foods are adulterated, it does not mean every single food products in the market are compromised with quality. These technological improvements are the viable solution to the booming population of the world and we should incorporate these in our eating habits.