In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. with this opinion?

Health is one of the indicators that measure the quality of life in a society. This is why, some people believe that governments should impose a higher tax on junk foods as a way to reduce its consumption, and, therefore, decrease the number of citizens with health problems. I totally agree with this view. To my way of thinking, measures such as this one can change the way people eat and eventually save their lives from some diseases. First of all, the main appeal of fast food is price. If the government suppresses this factor, it is more likely that people will start to consume other types of food that are as affordable, but not as harmful for their bodies such as fruits and homemade meals. In fact, countries which have already implemented such measures have had a decrease in obesity cases. In addition, the increase in the price of fast foods can incentive people buy from local communities that usually produce healthier foods with lower prices. In this situation, the economy of the place would become stronger improving the lives of the community. Take Thailand as an example, the communities have regional markets and farm markets as a way to protect regional food and local companies as well as promote a more balanced way of life for adults and children. Furthermore, it is of paramount importance that the money collected from the tax could be used to benefit the health of the citizens. For instance the government could create sports facilities or community centers where people could exercise without paying costly fees. An example of this is Canada, that does not only tax fast food chains, but also uses the money collected for expenses with public health. In conclusion, as far as I am concerned, it is part of the attribution of the government take care of the well-being of the population, consequently, measures such as taxation in fast food chains are utterly important to secure the population from some health problems. I truly believe that a scenario where this companies are more controlled society would be healthier and more prosperous.