It is inevitable that as technology advances, traditional cultures will be lost. It seems that we cannot have these two things together.

I absolutely agree that traditional cultures will be lost because of technological advancements. As we step into the future, our cultures, behavioural patterns, and exterior appearance become more homogeneous. There is nothing we can do about it, or could we? Actually, we could, by neglecting Technology and going back, but this seems rather unthinkable, doesn’t it? So it is obvious that there is no going back for us. With the advent of tech, cheap travelling, and seamless immigration processes, our cultures have started to become more and more mixed up to unprecedented levels. Many big cities around the world are being called multicultural, and it is only the beginning. Since different people live close to each other, they don’t care about religious, political or ethical beliefs nor do they care about social backgrounds. This encourages them to date and marry anybody they choose to. The ramifications of this will be that within a certain period of time, we are going to have a similar appearance and speak only one language; probably a mix of English and Chinese. Tech has also contributed to the growth of globalist tendencies in western countries. Now, these lands are taking in lots of immigrants, which are going to accelerate the speed of mixing. Technologies have given us a lot of freedom by automating tedious and repetitive jobs. Many people would say that it is great, but other advances are very questionable. Some of them are entering people’s interpersonal relationships which are the building blocks of cultures. In the future, it is absolutely possible that people are going to date not real people, but robots. It seems unreal now, but not long ago the internet seemed unreal too. It has already begun, the doll market is booming. Even the usual way of reproduction could be replaced by an invention of an artificial womb. With the arguments I provided above it is clear that we cannot have both. Whether it is going to be beneficial or harmful to people’s psyche, we do not know yet. It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost in time just like tears in rain.