In the present era, children are found to have fewer responsibilities than it used to be in the past time. Some people consider it as positive development, however, some other people believe it to be a negative trend.

In contemporary society, children are considered to take fewer responsibilities than they were in the past. While this trend could bring more benefits to children, I would argue that it is more likely to have detrimental impact. On the one hand, I can say that this phenomenon is beneficial for children in many ways. First of all, children are given more spare time to enjoy their lifetime if they have to do fewer duties. It goes without saying that some tasks require a huge amount of time to complete such as house hold chores. Moreover, these mundane jobs have to be done every day, which curtails their spending on relax. Secondly, children are happier if they have fewer work to do. It is clear that some duties are so boring and annoying that children certainly are joyful if it is not their responsibilities anymore. Children are not patient enough to accomplish those tasks. On the other hand, I would argue that these benefit are eclipsed by the drawbacks. The most important advantage of letting children work is that it facilitates children’s cognitive and physical development. For instance, when they are told to clean the house, they have to observe their parents work and imitate their actions. By that way, children can learn almost everything in the school or in the office. Secondly, children will become more independent and versatile when they grow up. With abundant tasks they did in the past, which are almost essential for their latter life, children are able to take care themselves when they are adults. In conclusion, while some people believe that children are given lesser responsibilities, I am convinced that children should do some responsibilities on their own to become more self-sufficient.