In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

Thank to modern health care services along with nutritious diets, people are living longer than ever before. This situation could spell trouble for both family and community, in this essay I will describe these problems and give some methods to untangle them. In terms of society, ageing population has wrought severe damage to national economies owing to the fact that the countries which undergo this situation might suffer from the dearth of labour force in addition to the governments must spend a radical amount of revenue on social welfare. To illustrate this case, it takes Japanese government 15% of GDP to build retirement houses and pay pension for seniors. Regarding individuals, elderly people are usually deemed burdens of their family since they are vulnerable as well as being unable to take care of themselves. As a result, their offspring could not concentrate on their work and private life, which is sometime frustrate. While these complications are seemingly insurmountable, I believe that governments could adopt some resolution to mitigate them. Firstly, the authorities could boost working age, which is likely to utilize the labour of the old. As a result, aged people are able to dedicate themselves to their country and they will get a higher income than retirement pension. Accordingly these people might not depend on their children. Moreover, governments ought to implement new insurances, which will be invested in healthcare services such as hospitals as well as paying for seniors when they retire. Vietnamese workers, for instance, pay nearly 10% of their salary per month for insurances, which is predicted to be sufficient for future social welfare. Subsequently weighing all the aforementioned, I suppose that increasing average life expectancy is bringing many matters; however, they could be handled by governments’ actions.