It is important for children to learn what is right and what is wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the distinction. What sort of punishment should be given?

Every child learns life aspects in a different way. It is indeed significant for children to understand between good and bat at a young age. Punishment could aid them to differentiate between those. I strongly disagree with this statement as it causes disturbances in the families and does no good to anyone. It is generally believed that punishment is required to teach the children to be good and not naughty. However, people can follow a different method to raise their offspring in an effective way. Instead of punishing them, a timeout can be given when they throw a tantrum. This way, they would have enough time to calm themselves and correct their behaviour. Instead, if they are grounded for a long time for disobeying, they might become more rude to their family. Clearly, parents should adapt different procedures that will assist their children to learn what is right and what is not. Punishing the children only leads to secrecy and spoils relation. The children will start to hide their real feelings from their parents due to the fear that they might get punished. As a result, they may not be able to build a friendly relationship with their loved ones. For instance, a student who failed in exam would hesitate to inform their parents because they could be scared of their parent's reaction. In short, this approach prevents to maintain a healthy relationship in the house as the children keep secrets. In conclusion, it is true that the children should seek the difference between right and wrong but punishment would only halt them in being honest with their parents. They could follow other ways like giving them a timeout for a short while that helps them to realize their unacceptable behaviour.